fbpx
Preloader image

 

Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada  – Webinar Registration

 

Hear from the Experts

How Physical Activity Supports MS Management

 

Tuesday July 14, 1PM EDT  (1 hour)

10AM  PDT

VICTORIA, BC

11AM  MDT/CST

EDMONTON, AB

REGINA, SK

12NOON CDT

WINNIPEG, MB

1PM EDT

TORONTO, ON

2PM ADT

HALIFAX, NS

2:30PM NDT

ST.JOHN’S, NL

 

Research has provided evidence to support that exercise is beneficial and safe for people living with MS and it is now considered to be an important aspect of the overall management of the disease. However, many people have a hard time identifying what physical activity works best for their body and/or fitting it into their routine. 

 

On July 14, join Sarah Donkers, PT, PhD, and Lara Pilutti, PhD, for an educational and interactive webinar on how physical activity can benefit MS. They will provide an overview of current research and realistic tips for how you can make physical activity a part of your routine. 

 

Speakers:

Sarah Donkers, PT, PhD

 

Sarah is a physiotherapist and Assistant Professor in the College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan. Sarah’s area of research focuses on maximizing function for people with neurological conditions. Her PhD investigated the use of behaviour change strategies for physical activity promotion in neurological conditions, with an emphasis on targeting physical activity behaviour in the routine management of MS. Sarah continues to explore ways to apply behavioural science to maximizing neurorecovery. Sarah is a PI for the Cameco MS Neuroscience Research Centre. Her primary goal at the moment is to improve access to and quality of rehabilitation services for individuals living with MS in Canada. 

Lara Pilutti , PhD

 

Lara Pilutti is an Associate Professor in the
Interdisciplinary School of Health Sciences and leads the Clinical Exercise Physiology Laboratory at the University of Ottawa. She obtained her doctorate degree in Kinesiology from McMaster University and completed a postdoctoral fellowship in the Exercise Neuroscience Research Laboratory at the University
of Illinois. Dr. Pilutti’s research focuses on the role of exercise in the
management and treatment of disability in people with multiple sclerosis. She has specific interests in the development and evaluation of adapted exercise rehabilitation approaches.

 

Please note, this webinar is in English only.

 

If you have any questions please call Andria Samis at 1-866-922-6065 x 3170, or email at: Andria.Samis@mssociety.ca

 

Each person must register individually, Google Chrome is recommended for the best registration and attendance experience.

 

For the day of the webinar you must use Google Chrome or Firefox web browser.  Mobile devices such as phones or tablets are supported if they are running Android or Apple IOS.

 

This webinar is made possible by Roche.